rinalia (rinalia) wrote,
rinalia
rinalia

California Legislation to Help Farmed Animals

At Animal Place, we are encouraging the passage of California Assembly Bill 594, authored by Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally.

This is not a shocking, extreme piece of legislation. At its core is the notion that farmed animals deserve basic freedom of movement. The bill simply says that if you house farmed animals, you must provide them with enough space that they can turn around or flap their wings. Several current housing systems severely restrict movement - gestation and farrowing crates utilized in the pig industry and battery cages in the egg-laying industry. The bill is really basic...and yet, as usual, agribusiness is fiercely opposing it. You can read the wording of the bill HERE

So, we need your help! If you can, please take a moment and send a short letter of support to the Committee on Agriculture, which is where the bill will be heard on May 9, 2007. Please get in your letters or calls of support by then. 

Nicole Parra - (916) 319-2030 Assemblymember.Parra@assembly.ca.gov
Doug La Malfa - (916) 319-2002 Assemblymember.lamalfa@assembly.ca.gov
Tom Berryhill - (916) 319-2025 Assemblymember.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov
Mervyn M. Dymally (also the author)- (916) 319-2052 Assemblymember.dymally@assembly.ca.gov
Jean Fuller - (916) 319-2032 Assemblymember.Fuller@assembly.ca.gov
Cathleen Galgiani - (916) 319-2017 Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov
Dave Jones - (916) 319-2009 Assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov
Tony Mendoza - (916) 319-2056 Assemblymember.Mendoza@assembly.ca.gov 

Of course, these messages are all the more powerful when sent by Californian residents, but support is support regardless of where you live.

If you have any questions or suggestions on how to word your letter, feel free to e-mail us at info@animalplace.org 

Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments